Mark Nicolet Brings Home McAvoy Award

First Charger Honored with Trophy Named for Hillsdale Legend Jack McAvoy

GLIAC Release, 12-11-07

Hillsdale College senior quarterback Mark Nicolet has been named recipient of the 2007 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) Jack H. McAvoy Award as announced by Commissioner Tom Brown.

The award is presented annually to the GLIAC football player who best combines outstanding character and leadership on the field, in the classroom, and in the community.

A native of Zionsville, Indiana, Nicolet has earned a 3.6 grade point average (4.0 scale) while majoring in Financial Management. He has been named to the GLIAC All-Academic football team three times and is a four-time member of the Hillsdale College Dean’s List.

This past season, Nicolet was a semifinalist for the Draddy Award, which is presented to the nation’s most outstanding college football student-athlete. Off the field, Nicolet is the leader of Hillsdale’s chapter of Athletes in Action and has served as the scholarship chairman of the Sigma Chi fraternity. He received the Jeff H. and Lis L. Coors Scholarship, which goes to the Hillsdale College student-athlete with
outstanding moral values, strong Christian leadership, active participation in church and involvement in Christian youth groups on campus.

On the field, Nicolet posted a record-setting season in 2007. He broke seven school records en route to leading Hillsdale to its best record this decade (8-3). Nicolet threw for a school-record 426 yards in a 49-28 win over Ashland University. Two weeks later, Nicolet shattered a long-standing school record when he completed 34 passes in a 37-0 home win over Michigan Technological University. He would go on to setsingle-season school records for completions (240), passing yards (3,335) and passing touchdowns (31). His 3,145 passing yards in GLIAC games also broke the conference record for passing yards in one season.

The two-time team captain was named the GLIAC Player of the Year for his efforts as well as earning Daktronics First-Team All-Region accolades.

“This award recognizes the accomplishments of our well rounded student-athletes,” stated Commissioner Brown. “The McAvoy Award is not just given on the basis of athletic ability, but is given to a student-athlete who has performed well in the classroom and has a strong sense of community involvement. Mark Nicolet is a shining example of the 4,000 quality student-athletes we have in the GLIAC.”

Nicolet becomes the first Hillsdale College player to earn the McAvoy Award. The Award is named for former Hillsdale College director of athletics and head football coach, Jack McAvoy, who was instrumental in the founding the Midwest Intercollegiate Football Conference (MIFC), now known as the GLIAC.

2007 Mark Nicolet, Hillsdale
2006 Mike Klobucher, Ferris State
2005 Matthew Shem, Northern Michigan
2004 Neil Baumgartner, Saginaw Valley State
2003 Josh Sherko, Northern Michigan
Scott Stuible, Northwood
2002 Jason Battershell, Saginaw Valley State
2001 Chris Volz, Indianapolis
2000 Alex Kowalski, Michigan Tech
1999 Mo Harris, Ferris State
1998 Jeff Fox, Grand Valley State
1997 Matt Fishburn, Wayne State
Eric Tree, Michigan Tech
1996 Chris Pulliams, Ferris State
Jack H. McAvoy Award Winners

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *